RSS Feed

10 Ways To Prolong the Life of Your Lanyards and Other Jewelry

2014-02-04 13.38.49

  1. When not wearing, keep separately in a pouch, bag, container, or even a ziplock bag. When stored together with other jewelry, beads and chain can become scratched.
  2. Clean beaded lanyards and jewelry with a toothbrush and warm water.
  3. On chain lanyards and jewelry, use polishing cloths to keep your chain looking clean and new.
  4. Be as careful as possible when wearing long lanyards, not to get them caught on something or pulled. An abrupt pull on a lanyard can cause it to loosen or even break.
  5. Even though Swarovski crystal pearls resist perspiration, UV rays, perfumes, and scratches, it is a good idea to occasionally clean pearls of any kind with a clean damp cloth.
  6. Never immerse beaded or chain jewelry in water. Use a camp cloth instead. A little mild dish soap can be used, if necessary.
  7. For metal beads, try to avoid moisture and chemicals like perfumes or hairspray.
  8. Lanyards and jewelry made with gemstones, crystal, or glass should never be dipped or used in an ultrasonic cleaner, as it will dull the polish of the stones/glass.
  9. Sterling silver that is not worn regularly will tarnish. Store your silver bead jewelry in an airtight container with an anti-tarnish strip.
  10. Do not use commercial dips on glass or crystal beads, as they will remove any coating that may be on the beads.
About TheLanyardNecklace

I have always been an artsy craftsy person and have had a passion for being creative. I started learning about jewelry design in 2008 and have been addicted to it ever since. LOL I started selling my jewelry on Etsy in 2011 through AWR Designs, which is mainly bridal jewelry (www.AWRDesigns.Etsy.com). In 2012, I started getting several requests for beaded and chain lanyards from coworkers at my full time daytime job, so I decided to open up a second Etsy shop just for my lanyards, The Lanyard Necklace, and along with it, a blog, new Twitter handle, Facebook page, and website. :-). Please check out my new Etsy shop, www.TheLanyardNecklace.Etsy.com for a variety of beaded and chain lanyards.

2 responses »

  1. I have learn a few good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much effort you set to create this sort
    of magnificent informative site.

    Reply
    • Hi Verona, thanks so much for your comment! I have been working with designing and creating jewelry for several years now, and I have also done a lot of research on jewelry making and selling, so I was able to pull together my resources of this information to help others, like you. Glad you like the list! And please let me know if I can answer any other questions for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

